Sunday, December 15, 2019   


Profile of Our Commissioners


How the Commissioners are appointed:

The Lieutenant Governor in Council appoints the members of the Commission and designates the chairman and a vice-chairman. 

The Island Regulatory and Appeals Commission Act provides for the appointment of a full-time chairman who shall be the chief executive officer of the Commission, a full-time vice-chairman, who shall assume primary responsibilities for matters related to land, one other commissioner; and not more than five part-time commissioners.

Our Commissioners  
Chair and Chief Executive Officer
J. Scott MacKenzie, Q.C.

J. Scott MacKenzie, Q.C. was appointed as Chair and Chief Executive Officer of the Commission effective April 21, 2014.  Prior to his appointment he was a Senior Partner at the law firm of Stewart McKelvey and practiced law in Charlottetown for more than thirty years.  

In his law practice Mr. MacKenzie represented large corporations, major financial institutions, banks, government financial and development agencies, administrative tribunals, municipalities, airport and harbour authorities and family owned businesses. He has acted as counsel providing advice on Federal and Provincial regulatory matters, financing of new and existing businesses, commercial property and condominium development, and corporate reorganizations. 

Mr. MacKenzie has been recognized as a leading lawyer by Lexpert and Best Lawyers in Canada in the areas of Corporate/Commercial Law, Banking and Finance, Real Estate Development and Land Use Planning and Infrastructure Project Law.  

Mr. MacKenzie has always taken a keen interest in community service. He was President of both the Greater Charlottetown Area Chamber of Commerce and Downtown Charlottetown Inc., Secretary to the Charlottetown Airport Authority Inc. He chaired a number of committees of the Law Society of PEI, served as a member of the local and national executives of the Canadian Bar Association, was a Director and Member of management board of the Canadian Bar Insurance Association. 

Doug Clow
Appointed: 2014

Doug Clow was appointed Vice-Chair of the Commission effective April 14, 2014. Prior to his appointment Doug worked for the Province of Prince Edward Island for 24 years. 

Doug worked at an accounting firm before joined the civil service of Prince Edward Island in 1990. He worked with the Office of the Auditor General until 1997, when he moved to the Department of Provincial Treasury as Budget Manager, later becoming Budget Director and Director of Fiscal Management. In 2008, Doug was promoted to Assistant Deputy Provincial Treasury and later became Deputy Provincial Treasury, Deputy Minister of Finance and Municipal Affairs, Secretary to Treasury Board and Comptroller with the Province of PEI. 

Doug graduate from the University of Prince Edward Island Business program in 1987 and received his Chartered Accountants designation in 1991. 

Doug lives in Stratford with his wife Diane and three sons.

Full-time Commissioner
John Broderick
Appointed: 2008

John Broderick has served as full-time Commissioner since January 2008. He also served as the Commission's Acting Vice-Chair from June 15, 2013 until April 14, 2014. A native of Tignish, PEI, Mr. Broderick began his employment career at the Co-op store in Tignish at the age of 15. Over the course of the next nine years, he advanced within the Co-op movement in Western PEI to become Manager of the Central Credit Union in O'Leary. He has extensive experience in the management of both personal and commercial lending portfolios. Subsequent to his time in the Co-op movement, Mr. Broderick gained experience in the private sector owning and managing a number of private business ventures including the now legendary "Tradewind Club". 

Prior to being named full-time Commissioner, Mr. Broderick was a member and a past president of The Credit Union Central of PEI and Metro Credit Union Ltd., as well as a past member and chair of the PEI Lending Agency Advisory Board. He has served, or continues to serve, in various roles in a number of church and community related organizations including, the Children's Wish Foundation (PEI Chapter), the Knights of Columbus, the Charlottetown Rotary Club, and is an active member of St. Pius X Parish.

John and his wife Edie live in Charlottetown and have three grown daughters, Rachel, Bethany and Alexis.

Part-time Commissioners
Jean Tingley
Appointed: 2010
Jean Tingley graduated from Success Business College in Truro, Nova Scotia with diplomas in general accounting, office management and public relations.  Jean was co-owner and vice-president of Dawndale Farm Supplies Ltd., a family-owned farm supply business, which included a retail store and feed manufacturing plant.  Ms. Tingley has been a board member of the Provincial Women's Institute Board; PEI representative on the National Youth Talent Steering Committee; board member of the QEH Foundation; board member of the QEH Auxiliary; media director for the Prince Edward Island Association of Hospital Auxiliaries; board member of the Commonwealth Society; board member of the Crapaud Exhibition and community representative on the Gulf Shore Community Corporation Board. 

In her spare time, Ms. Tingley volunteers at the QEH and is currently past-president of the QEH Auxiliary.

Jean and her husband Dave are the proud parents of two children and four grandchildren.

  Terry McKenna
Appointed: 2017

Page last reviewed or updated: September 04, 2019

Frequently Asked Questions Click for RSS Feeds Current Petroleum Prices Rental Property Forms Lands Protection Forms