New Brunswick Newfoundland & Labrador Nova Scotia Prince Edward Island

July 27, 2023

Sent by Email

Allison MacEwen Prince Edward Island Regulatory & Appeals Commission P.O. Box 577 Charlottetown, PE C1A 7L1 Email: amacewen@irac.pe.ca

Dear Mr. MacEwen:

RE: Public Comment on PD527 - New Retail Gasoline Outlet Application - D.P. Murphy (the "Application")

I am writing to you on behalf of the Town of Borden-Carleton (the "Town") as part of the public comment process in the aforementioned Application. As the Commission may already be aware, there is significant public interest with respect to this Application.

The Town is not in a position to make comment with respect to the Application, but wishes to note for the Commission that the Town itself has heard from a substantial number of its residents expressing their concern, including concerns raised by residents in attendance at recent council meetings. Many of those comments and concerns question how another retail gas outlet and convenience store in Borden-Carleton may impact necessary local services, including the provision of hardware store and grocery store offerings. Additional and frequent concerns raised by residents question how the proposed Application will affect local traffic congestion, roadway safety, and noise from large transport trucks which residents fear have the potential to congregate around this type of use.

Filip Hrga | Associate Direct 902 888 2872 Main 902 888 1033 Fax 902 436 7131 Email fhrga@coxandpalmer.com Holman Centre, 250 Water Street, Suite 401, South Tower Entrance

As noted, the Town takes no position either for or against the Application, but respectfully requests that the Commission explore and deliberate the impact the proposed Application may have on other necessary local service offerings as they are essential to Borden-Carleton's residents and travellers alike, all of which form the motoring public.

Yours very truly, Cox & Palmer

Filip Hrga Town Solicitor

CC: Mayor Randy Ahearn Deputy Mayor Larry Allen Councillor Ashley Steele Councillor Laurel Palmer-Thompson Councillor Eric Stewart Councillor Barb Wood Councillor Nicole Bernard-Arsenault Jim Wentzell, Chief Administrative Officer